Blueberry and Raspberry Crumble (Gluten-free, Grain-free, Paleo)

20130630_150547

I was thinking just this morning that I was not going to have a lot of time to blog this month in France, but I had not paused to think that my sleepless hours due to jetlag spent in front of the History Channel watching documentaries on the Falklands war (my current activity as I am writing this, precisely) could probably be put to good blogging use. Especially since I have found time to cook and take some pictures. I have been particularly thrilled to renew my love with berries since being back in France.

I know I have been talking a lot about ingredients that I have missed and can’t find in Brazil lately, in fact I didn’t know there were that many! I ache when I see the price of blueberries and cherries in Brazil (when I can find them of course, generally in upscale supermarkets), and let’s not talk about raspberries. So I have been stocking my fridge with blueberries and raspberries for the past week and munching on them incessantly, knowing that our relationship will come to an end in a month when I go back to Brazil. Hence, I’ve been incorporating them in all my desserts and breakfasts, don’t be surprised if most of the next dessert posts contain berries, I may have gone overboard at the market and now need to liquidate my excess stock.

SONY DSC

I made this blueberry and raspberry crumble as a dessert for some friends I invited over for dinner, it was super simple to make, and I even made an individual little ramekin crumble for myself the next day as a quick snack to use up some more berries. Don’t judge, it’s not like I made a chocolate cake for myself, ramekins are made to satisfy the momentary craving in a matter of bites. And really, you don’t need an occasion or excuse to make this, it’s healthy, delicious, quick to make and very low in sugar. In fact, this recipe inaugurates my use of coconut sugar. I really liked the lightly “toasted” taste it brought to the crumble and the fact that two tablespoons were plenty enough to sweeten the entire dessert. I’ve been on a quest for the right refined-sugar-free sweetener for baking and so far this has been one of the most satisfying ones and closest in texture to sugar. Finally, it naturally has a very low glycemic index so it won’t spike your blood sugar and has less carbs (12g per tbsp) than other sweeteners such as honey, maple syrup or agave (16-20g per tbsp) with an equally sweet taste. Que demande le peuple?

Blueberry and Raspberry Crumble (Gluten-free, grain-free, Paleo)

Serves 620130630_150628

1 cup (100g) of blueberries

1 cup (125g) of raspberries

2 tbsp lemon juice

1 1/2 cups hazelnut meal

1/2 cup almond meal

2 tbsp coconut sugar

1/2 cup unsweetened, shredded coconut

3 tbsp (85g) of butter or coconut oil

1 tbsp vanilla extract

1 tbsp vanilla bean powder

1 tbsp cinnamon

Optional: shredded almonds for topping

Instructions:

1. Preheat the oven at 165°C.

2. Wash the berries, pat them dry and place them in a large round baking dish

SONY DSC

3. In a bowl, mix together the ground hazelnuts and almonds with the dehydrated coconut. Add the butter and use the tips of your fingers to incorporate it into the dry ingredients until they reach the texture of coarse sand. Add the coconut sugar, the cinnamon and the vanilla extract.

4. Pour the crumble over the berries, covering them entirely. Bake for 30 minutes at 160°C, or until you can see the berry filling starting to bubble.

20130630_150320

Leave a Reply

