Cinnamon Raisin Bread Rolls

IMG_0077

I’m travelling back to France today for one month, which is very exciting since I haven’t been home for almost a year since I came to Brazil in August 2012. I’m prepared for a few slips in the food department, some gluten here and there (how can I possibly avoid French bread?), more dairy than I’ve been eating lately (god how I’ve missed Brie), more wine, more sweets – it definitely won’t be a Paleo friendly month all the time – but heck, it’s vacation and it’s France. However, having said that, if I’m going to slip and make exceptions, it better be for things that are stinking worth it. Hence, delicious French pastry yes, bad airplane food no. I generally don’t feel at my best when I’m travelling, tummy-wise, so I want to avoid eating things that would make it worse. So I got a little busy in the kitchen yesterday to make some travel-friendly, gluten-free food, including these little bread rolls which I’m very excited to share.

IMG_0072

I hadn’t tasted something so close to the texture of real bread until these little fellas came along. The secret ingredient? Psyllium. It worked wonders in making them round and crusty on the outside, soft and light on the inside, and they rose so well in the oven I couldn’t believe it! Because let’s face it, gluten-free, grain-free bread offers limited options in terms of bread. And when I say “bread”, I’m talking about a compact loaf that resembles a cross between a pound cake and German rye bread rather than a baguette or regular sandwich bread. It works alright for me since my favorite bread happens to be the German, rye type, but I can’t say I’m not thrilled if I can throw a little variety in there. The good thing about these is that they require little ingredients, are quick and easy to make, and you can play around with the flavors.

IMG_0081

I chose cinnamon-raisin which originally is my favorite type of bagel, plus I thought they’d be perfect toasted with a little butter for breakfast. I haven’t added any sugar or sweetener to them because I like my bread more on the neutral side, plus the coconut flour and raisins already give them a lightly sweetened taste.  If you want to make a completely neutral bread roll, the base recipe is the list of ingredients minus the raisins and cinnamon, which you can also substitute with other ingredients to give the breads another flavor: I’m thinking of trying them with dried tomatoes, herbs, fennel seeds, olives or parmesan. Please share if you have other variety ideas!

Cinnamon Raisin Bread Rolls

IMG_0074

Makes 7-8 bread rolls

Ingredients:

1/2 cup coconut flour

1/4 cup flaxmeal

5 tbsp ground psyllium husks (no substitute)

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

4 eggs

2 1/2 tbsp apple cider vinegar

1 1/4 cup boiling water

2 tbsp raisins


Instructions

1. Combine dry ingredients in a bowl

2. In a separate bowl, whisk the eggs and apple cider vinegar and add to the dry ingredients. Mix until ingredients are perfectly incorporated and dough becomes thick.

3. Add the boiling water to the dough and continue mixing. Let the dough rest and thicken for 20 minutes.

IMG_0046

4. Preheat oven at 350°F (175°C). Divide the dough in 7 small buns (or you can make 1 large loaf), place on a parchment lined baking sheet and bake for 50 minutes. Let them cool completely before eating.

2 thoughts on “Cinnamon Raisin Bread Rolls

  1. Pingback: Coconut Milk and Sesame Seed Bread Rolls (gluten-free, nut-free, dairy-free) « My little jar of spices

Leave a Reply

