Cookie Dough Mug Muffin, gluten-free, vegan, sugar free

IMG_0027

See the Cookie Dough Mug Muffin version 2.0 here.

My very first blog post was for a breakfast teacup muffin recipe that could be baked in under two minutes in the microwave for instant gratification or a very quick on-the-go breakfast, a concept which people really seemed to like, sort of to my surprise as it didn’t involve any sophisticated cooking techniques and I thought I would have to put in more effort to wow readers. But then I remembered just how blown away I was when I discovered muffins could be made in a microwave: just combine ingredients in a mug, pop in the microwave for 1-2 minutes, watch it rise in child-like astonishment with your eyes glued to the microwave door (very important part of the process) and chow down. Now, whenever I feel like a quick treat or when we have people over for dinner and everyone’s munching on delicious Italian bread rolls and I’m all left out because there’s no gluten-free version for me, I just make a 5-minute salty muffin and I can join the bread feasting party with the rest of the cool kids. Freddy also loves the concept when, after a nice and fulfilling meal I lazily turn to him and ask “want a muffin for dessert?”, and he knows it means within the next five minutes.

How could I have missed out on this culinary wonder (ehm, and danger – when you have a muffin ready with the whip of a fork and a quick ride in the microwave, you might as well kiss all self-control goodbye!) for 24 years?? And then yesterday while grocery shopping in the neighborhood supermarket, I realized they sold a “bolo de caneca” cake mix in Brazil, translated it means “mug cake”. The first time I had seen the package, I thought “caneca” was a type of flour, but since then, I’ve learned that the word means mug. Jeez, even the Brazilian food industry has been more knowledgeable on microwaved mug-baked goods than me all this time. It took a while to let that sink in, then I looked at the nutritional information on the back of the package and, without surprise, sugar was the first ingredient. I went home and made my own healthy version of “bolo de caneca” just to show them they weren’t going to win this round.

IMG_0025

It was a basic and simple recipe that I got from the absolutely genius idea by The Freckled Foodie to make a microwaved cookie (and dough). Aaah cookie dough. I used to eat Ben & Jerry’s Cookie Dough ice-cream by the pint before I knew better. I rarely make cookies, probably because there’s something very compulsive about cookies that you never stop at just one (or in my case, two, three, four… wait, what I’ve finished the entire batch?  – controlling myself with sweets seems to be a recurrent topic today, but let’s not focus on that). Muffins however I make all the time, there’s something more gratifying about a muffin. So the idea of making a “cookie” muffin was really appealing. Double the pleasure, plus a warm and chunky “cookie dough” core, what more could I ask for on a rainy Saturday afternoon? The best part, there’s no sugar or artificial sweetener needed in the recipe because the ingredients naturally sweeten it – take THAT industrial sugar-laden bolo de caneca!!

This recipe is also 100% vegan, dairy-free and paleo friendly.

Cookie Dough Mug Muffin, gluten free, vegan, sugar free (version 2 here)

IMG_0026

Makes 1 muffin

1 medium banana

1.5 tbsp almond or macadamia butter

1 tbsp coconut flour

1 tbsp coconut milk

1 tbsp raw cacao nibs

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp of gluten-free baking powder

Instructions:

1. Combine all ingredients in a small mug

2. Microwave for 1:30 minutes for a soft “cookie dough” core, add 15 seconds if you wish a more firm muffin.

3. Let cool for a few minutes and dig directly in the mug with a spoon. Then let out a mighty and conspiring laugh at the food industry.

 

The alternative version for the cookie dough mug muffin is banana-free and uses ground pecans

IMG_0029

24 thoughts on “Cookie Dough Mug Muffin, gluten-free, vegan, sugar free

  1. Pingback: Tuesday 071613

  2. Pingback: “It’s my party and I’ll write an insanely long post if I want to!” | girl meets paleo.

    • You can maybe sub it with 1/4 cup of mashed pumpkin or yogurt, but I haven’t actually tried it! Otherwise just omit the banana and add more of the other first three ingredients: I would say add 1 tbsp of almond butter, 1 tbsp of coconut milk and 1/3 tbsp of coconut flour and see how that works!

  3. Oh it’s like you read my mind! I’ve been trying to figure out a way to de-glutenize cake-in-a-mug but all my (delicious) trials have been full of sugar. This looks PERFECT. Thanks!!!

    • You’re very welcome! The banana does a great job of sweetening it on its own and if you’re craving a little more sweetness, I recommend adding a few drops of stevia or using dates. Both less processed options and much lower on the glycemic index!

  4. This. This is a MAJOR win. I have more of sweet tooth than I like to admit, and after I had a few drinks I almost made some bad decisions of the Oreo variety. This saved me and I love you. That may be slightly awkward for you, but my love is not the suffocating kind.

  5. Pingback: New recipe + Elf 4 Health | Livin' Life In Louie

  6. I’m allergic to both banana and nuts, as well as eggs. Is there a way to adapt this to just being an egg-free recipe? I’ve searched around and they all seem to be gluten/dairy-free recipes which use substitutes I’m allergic to 😦 I don’t know enough about baking to work it out myself.

    • Katherine, you can substitute the nut butter with coconut butter or perhaps sunbutter if you do alright with sunflower seeds. For the banana, how about replacing it with some mashed pumpkin or butternut squash or some applesauce? You can also try to leave it out all together and put more coconut flour and more sunflower/coconut butter. And to replace an egg in baking, combine 1 tbsp of chia seeds (or ground flax) and 3 tbsp of water: it will form a gel-like mixture similar to the binding consistency of eggs. I hope all of this works, let me know how it goes!!

    • another good substitute is psyllium husk powder…mix about a 1 – 1/2 tsp in some water…start with less and go until you have that gel-type consistency.

  7. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Mug Muffin 2.0 (Paleo, DF, Vegan option) | My little jar of spices

  8. Pingback: TREADMILL TUESDAY | Fresh Squeezed Fitness

  9. Pingback: Paleo Microwave Cookie Dough Mug Muffin | santospaleocouple

Leave a Reply

