Caramelized Onion, Squash and Sausage Hash

IMG_0022
Last Saturday, I spent most of the afternoon home alone. Everyone was either at work or travelling, and I realized I had nothing specific to do, which was, for once, not a problem given how hectic my schedule has been these past few weeks. Generally on weekends, our kitchen looks like a restaurant battlefield, with everyone brunching at the peak of midday, scrambling eggs, preparing salads, blending some type of sophisticated shake, toasting bread, cutting up fruit and cheese and squeezing every tiny inch of counter space, our elbows bumping each other over the stove and the floor looking like someone carried out a scientific bread-crumb-explosion experiment on it. Oh man, empty kitchen + me having nothing to do = a combination that couldn’t possibly lead to anything sane, however tasty the final product.

It started with an innocent smoothie (it always does…), followed by a pretty normal, uneventful lunch, and before you know it I was buying 2 pounds of rump steak, roasting garlic in the oven, making exotic muffins and inviting friends over for dinner. I’d like to point out at this point that, while I tend to get enthusiastic in the kitchen and go a tad overboard, I always call people over to reap the benefits.

IMG_9967Ok and I lied. Lunch was totally the opposite of uneventful: it was this recipe, which I would also describe as a skillet of homey, comfy, hash-like goodness. I had been craving for a few days some kind of hash-like grub, nothing particularly glamorous but all the same delicious, with SAUSAGE meat, and SQUASH, that would be cooked in a SKILLET and should be eaten in a BOWL (a classic comfort food receptacle!). Cravings come in the oddest forms.

Thus behold: a caramelized onion, squash and sausage hash. It doesn’t get any more Paleo than this folks. Ok, true, it could have been bacon, but I wanted little bits of tender, crumbled pork meat rather than hard chunks of bacon (no offense bacon). This has the taste of comfort food without carbs AND it has greens in it, as well as good fats and lots of protein that will fuel your body well into the day. With the cold and depressing weather we’ve been having in São Paulo, this was everything I was looking for and more. It was so good that I had it again today, it is becoming a Saturday lunch ritual. Some days I can’t believe how lucky I am. Eat this and neither will you.

Caramelized Onion, Squash and Sausage Hash

Ingredients:

Makes 2 servings

1 medium onion, minced

1 tbsp of coconut oil

1 cup of squash (I used Kabocha), roasted and cubed

1 cup fresh spinach, chopped

1/2 cup (200g) pork sausage meat

2 eggs

1/4 tsp ground chili

Salt, pepper

Instructions:

1. Roast the squash in the oven at 200°C for 35 minutes, until cooked but still sufficiently firm (you don’t want it to purée in your skillet).

2. When squash is roasted, chop it into medium-sized cubes and set aside. Mince the onion and cook in coconut oil in a skillet on medium heat for 8-10 minutes until it begins to caramelize.

IMG_0016

3. Throw in the chopped spinach, and crumble the pork sausage meat in the skillet. Add chili, salt and pepper and cook for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the pork meat is cooked through. Add the squash last when you are through stirring the other ingredients and they are well cooked since it tends to get mashed if you stir it.

IMG_0017

4. Crack two eggs over the skillet and cover, letting them cook in the hash between 5 to 7 minutes (depending on how firm you want the yellows, I like mine a little runny).

5. Eat in a BOWL for utmost comfort food bliss!

3 thoughts on “Caramelized Onion, Squash and Sausage Hash

  1. That’s yummy stuff right there! I do something similar with sweet potato or butternut squash often. Kabocha is a great choice! I would also try it with pumpkin – I think that would come out fantastic!

Leave a Reply

