Eggs poached in sautéed greens with pancetta

Eggs poached in greens 9

This has been my go-to breakfast on many days since I decided to cut my lovely albeit gluten-full granola out of my breakfast ritual and still haven’t had time to learn to make my own version of gluten-free granola (but I’ll be sure to get back to you as soon as I’ve gotten around to doing that). On days when I miss cereal, I make a snazzy nut and chia seed porridge with coconut milk that I also have in my list of recipes to share. On regular days, I have these eggs.

Now I’ve never been much of an eggs and bacon for breakfast kind of gal, I’ve always preferred sweet over salty in the morning… I find that baked goods, muffins and cereal always go better with a cup of coffee than scrambled eggs and cold cuts. However, since I’ve been trying to get more protein in the morning, I’ve had to find a way to appreciate our friends the eggs. After all, let’s not underestimate them: they are one of the cheapest sources of protein we have, universal to all cultures, and there are so many ways to cook them you can’t possibly get bored.

Final point, I’ll be honest with you, I don’t actually get my hands on Pancetta all the time so on most days, I’ll be using smoked turkey, bacon (or no meat at all) for this recipe. Pancetta is for the fancy days when I’ve had a particularly successful workout at the gym beforehand and feel like a championnette. This egg dish remains a low-calorie paleo breakfast option, high in protein, vitamins and essential fatty acids and very low carb.

Eggs poached in sautéed greens with Pancetta

Eggs poached in greens 12

Makes 1 serving

Ingredients:

2 eggs

1 tsp of coconut oil or olive oil

2 scallions

1/4 cup of green or yellow bell pepper

3/4 cup of collard greens, chopped with stalks

3/4 cup of spinach (you can also use kale, mustard greens, escarole, or any other greens of your choice)

1/4 cup (50g) Pancetta

2 tbsp of fresh parsley, chopped

Salt and pepper to taste

Optional: 1/2 jalapeño pepper, if you want it spicy.

Avocado slices for serving

Instructions:

1. In a small skillet on medium, heat the coconut oil and saute the scallions and bell pepper for 3 minutes, until they are tender. Add the pancetta (and jalapeño, optional) and continue to stir for 3 minutes or until the ingredients in the pan start to golden.

2. Add in the chopped collards (with stalks, chopped), spinach and parsley, and saute for 3 minutes, stirring with a wooden spoon.

Eggs poached in greens 6

3. Delicately crack two eggs in the skillet over the greens, add salt and pepper and quickly cover. Turn the heat on low and let the eggs poach in the greens, covered, for 5 to 6 minutes. Do not remove the cover from the pan during that time.

Eggs poached in greens 7

Eat sizzling hot with freshly sliced avocado and a drizzle of olive oil, or a side of cauliflower hash browns.

Note: this recipe can find many alternatives, so have fun with it. Add broccoli, cherry tomatoes, zucchini, mushrooms, oregano, sausage meat, spice it up with some cumin, even squash works well I’ve found!

One thought on “Eggs poached in sautéed greens with pancetta

  1. Pingback: Carrot Cake Muffins (Paleo, Gluten-Free) | My little jar of spices

Leave a Reply

