Breakfast teacup muffin (gluten-free, grain-free, sugar-free)

teacup muffin retouche

Welcome to the very first post of My little jar of spices! I’m so honored to have you here and I hope these recipes will spark your interest to play around with alternative ingredients and venture into grain-free recipes. Now don’t get all upset by the X-free adjectives in the title, while I like to make nutritional information available about the recipes posted here, it doesn’t mean you can’t tweak them to your liking or that sugar free = no taste. Remember, there are spices involved here! I will probably go into detail on my eating choices some other time, but today I want to talk about two ingredients that have really made their way into my food in the past months and that are the core of this-here recipe: flaxseed meal and chia seed.

Flaxseed meal is basically grounded flax seed (linhaça, in Brazil) that can be used as a wheat flour substitute for those who want to eat and bake gluten free, and you can find it in its brown or golden form. Chia seed is a superfood grown in the Andes that is tiny in size but has received rave reviews from foodies and nutritionists for its explosive nutritional benefits; Both are very rich in omega 3, high in fiber, low in carbs (close to zero), and have an incredible “nutty” taste that makes baked goods exquisit. In particular, Chia seed contains an insane amount of antioxydants, calcium and omega 3: one tablespoon of Chia a day satisfies all of those nutritional needs. It is also a great source of energy and helps with weight control. You can use Chia in baked goods, in fruit juices and shakes, on salads, to replace eggs in baking (when combined with water). Bref, your best friend in life might I say. You can find both easily in any health food store.

RETOUCHE2

These muffins are the first recipe I wanted to share because they are so über-simple to make that they were the revelation of the century for me. After halting the gluten in my diet, I was looking for a quick and easy replacement for bread in the morning and found… the best thing since sliced bread indeed. Get ready: they take 1 minute and 30 seconds to bake… in your microwave. Whaaaat? Yes dear, 1:30 min tops, and who knew the microwave could actually bake something after all this time of heating up frozen lasagnas. Now these are generally called “mug muffins”, but if you’re like me and like your muffins shaped like…well… actual muffins, instead of long mug-shaped sausages, you’ll appreciate my teacup version. You can also make a larger batter and bake it in a bowl (probably for 2-3 minutes) to make a kind of muffin “loaf”. The ingredient list is also very simple, but you can add almost anything to this basic recipe to make a muffin that fits your mood of the day. I make these to taste similar to bread, so they’re more on the neutral-to-salty side. But if you want to make them sweeter, use only a pinch of salt and add 1 tablespoon of honey or 4 drops of liquid stevia if you want them sweet but sugar-free. You can also add nuts, raisins, chopped apple, cranberries, grated carrots, coconut flakes, whatever makes you go bananas really (indeed, you can add mashed bananas!).

Flax-chia Breakfast Teacup Muffin

RETOUCHE3

Ingredients for 1 muffin

2 tablespoons of flaxseed meal

1 tablespoon of chia seeds

1 egg

1/4 teaspoon of salt

1 teaspoon of gluten-free baking powder

1/2 teaspoon of cinammon

Coconut oil (or butter)

Optional: dried fruit, walnuts, pecans, dried coconut, etc….

1. Grease a 200mL teacup with coconut oil or butter (about 8 cm in diameter and 5 cm in height)

2. In a separate bowl, start by whisking together the flaxseed meal, chia seeds, cinammon, baking powder and salt.

3. Add the egg and mix until ingredients form a batter. Let sit for a few minutes to thicken. You should be able to scoop it with a spoon.

4. Scoop the batter into your greased teacup, flatten the top with the back of a spoon and microwave on high for 1 1/2 minutes. Watch it grow in the microwave: this is a fascinating thing.

It might still be a little soft when you take it out of the microwave, let it cool for 2 minutes at room temperature. I like to cut it in half and toast for a minute or so. Eat it plain, with goat cheese, mashed avocado, a little butter and jam,….. so many options really. You can also make several of these and keep in the fridge for when you’re on the go.

Happy breakfasting everyone!

14 thoughts on “Breakfast teacup muffin (gluten-free, grain-free, sugar-free)

  1. Pingback: Cookie Dough Mug Muffin, gluten-free, vegan, sugar free « My little jar of spices

  2. Hi, I have been making this each morning and it is so convenient. I’ve been cutting them in half and adding a morningstar farms veggie sausage patties (costco) and some coconut oil. Those patties are one minute in the microwave – so I’ve got my breakfast in less than three minutes. Thanks so much.

  3. Pingback: Happy Halloween – Chew On This Delicious Mug Muffin | it's just a bad day ... not a bad life!

  4. I no longer use a microwave , ( it was very easy, just a few more dishes wen heating up food. They look great and simple to make .Have you tried them in the oven? Do you think 350 for 20 min might be good ?

  5. Pingback: 10 Paleo Breakfast Muffins Recipes

  6. I love this recipe! I have made it many times sweet & savory. To make it lighter, I replace 1Tb of flaxseedmeal with 1 TB of almond flour. This keeps me full all morning until lunch time. Also, I microwave it in a 10oz ramakin.

  7. I have been eating this muffin for the last several days and I love it! Thank you so much for posting it! It keeps me full for a long time, it’s delicious, and most important, it’s quick and easy! Thank you from the bottom of my heart!

  8. Question…if I didn’t want the flax seed/chia seed in there, would I sub all almond flour? I am not too knowledgeable on the diff uses for the alternative flours.
    BTW..these look awesome and I can’t wait to try them.

    • Hi debbie, flax/chia don’t have the same baking properties as other nut flours, but this muffin has worked for me once with 50% almond flour and 50% dessicated coconut when I ran out of flax. I prefer it with flax though. Hope this is helpful!

Leave a Reply

